Explore
 Lists  Reviews  Images  Update feed
Categories
MoviesTV ShowsMusicBooksGamesDVDs/Blu-RayPeopleArt & DesignPlacesWeb TV & PodcastsToys & CollectiblesComic Book SeriesBeautyAnimals   View more categories »
Listal logo
All reviews - Movies (60) - TV Shows (7) - DVDs (75) - Books (62) - Music (275) - Games (17)

Temple review

Posted : 5 years, 9 months ago on 2 January 2012 05:01 (A review of Temple)

I really tried to finish this book but after 60% in I just couldn't read it anymore. I'm not sure what age group it's meant to be for because at times I felt like it was written for teenagers, while other times it was the standard adult ficton thriller I'm use to. The main problem I find is how it's written. The flow is all over the place, the direction is predictable, and the whole fight with the cats felt like it was going on for 100 pages... wait, I think it did! He has this way of sucking me into and idea or action sequence and by the time I'm 2-3 pages in I already don't care anymore because he has pages breaks up the wazoo and starts and stops with so much BS in between. It's hard to explain but I've never read a novel written like this one was before. Anyway, this is my first read from this author and it wasn't a good experience. If I was 15 I think I would have liked it more.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Hellhole (The Hell Hole Trilogy) review

Posted : 5 years, 9 months ago on 2 January 2012 05:00 (A review of Hellhole (The Hell Hole Trilogy))

Well I got half way through this book and decided to quit it. I skimmed through as well and it looks like I'm not missing much. I'm disappointed in this one a lot because I've read these guys Dune Trilogy and like it, in fact I want to read it again some day too. This book however just doesn't go anywhere at all and there's no action or hardly anything I'd consider Sci-fi too! I think the only action in the first 100 pages is an electrical storm. I understand it's book 1 of 3 but hell there's a ton of other trilogies I can name that have excellent 1st books. Ironically Dune: The Butlerian Jihad is one of them. I'm glad I won this book because I have no interest in reading the other two coming out and I can now give this one away to someone.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

The Worm Ouroboros review

Posted : 5 years, 9 months ago on 2 January 2012 04:59 (A review of The Worm Ouroboros)

Well, I had heard this book was a challenge to read but I thought I'd give it a shot and see what happens. I ended up only getting about 35% of the way through before I decided to give up and the main reason was I couldn't remember any of what I had just read. None of it was sticking in my brain and I was getting frustrated because I really wanted to finish this book. I like the idea behind it but it's a very dry read and the Victorian English style writing didn't help either. Maybe one day I'll read it again but for now I'll stick to regular English please.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Dawnman Planet / Inherit the Earth review

Posted : 5 years, 9 months ago on 2 January 2012 04:58 (A review of Dawnman Planet / Inherit the Earth)

This is regarding the "Dawnman Planet" story only. It was an interesting idea but it was a very dry read with a boring plot. I liked the idea of Mack exploring the theory that just because a civilization looks primitive, doesn't mean their stupid. This story takes place in the future and there's lots of parallels used for modern Earth, but sometimes it's used to much. It's a short read so I can't give much away. Even though I rated this a 2/5 I still wouldn't mind reading other works by Reynolds.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Godzilla, Mothra and King Ghidorah: Giant Monsters All-Out Attack review

Posted : 5 years, 9 months ago on 2 January 2012 01:03 (A review of Godzilla, Mothra and King Ghidorah: Giant Monsters All-Out Attack)

If you want to see a movie with Godzilla pissed off the most, this is the one. He takes on three other monsters and kills them all!!! The Godzilla vs. Mothra battle being one of the best out of the whole series I think too! Along with all the awesome action and good effects this movie also has a very good soundtrack with it. Of all the newer Godzillas this one has to be my favourite. There is also some monster blood, which I don't remember seeing an any of the other one's I own (which is 11 movies). Some of the acting is bad but it just adds to some comic relief, which I think should be in all Godzilla movies.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

The Woman in Black review

Posted : 5 years, 9 months ago on 2 January 2012 01:00 (A review of The Woman in Black)

I wouldn't call this the scariest movie ever but it did have a couple creepy moments. I must say for a 'made for TV' movie it's pretty good and the soundtrack is good as well. I think if I had seen this back when it was released when I was 9 years old I would have been scared a ton. Worth a watch and it's free on Youtube so give it a view if you like creepy horror films.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

The Witches review

Posted : 5 years, 9 months ago on 2 January 2012 01:00 (A review of The Witches)

Some people told me this was a scary film when they were young and I didn't really believe them because of how it was labeled. Well, I finally saw this and yeah, they were right. Some of these scenes would have scared the shit out of me at the age of 6-10. The movie is pretty good but it is such a simple story that it's hard to rate it any higher that 5/10. I do enjoy it though every time I see it.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Battletruck review

Posted : 5 years, 9 months ago on 2 January 2012 12:59 (A review of Battletruck)

This movie apparently cost about $1,000,000 to make but it grossed over $3,000,000 so I guess that isn't so bad for a b-movie. Yes this is a rip off of Mad Max but I actually liked this film. The wide angle shots of the lovely New Zealand were very well done, some even beautiful. The truck in this film is put together very well and it didn't look cheap at all! I also think this movie has one of the best "truck-off-a-cliff" scenes ever too! The overall movie is a bit slow at times but the ending is awesome and I think this is one of the better lesser known movies of this genre out there.

This movie came as a double bill with the dreadful Deathsport packaged as a Roger Corman Classic but I have no idea what Corman's contribution to the film is so wtf?

Stats
TRT: 1:31:23
First Death: 5:39
Last Death: 1:25:43
Total Deaths: 23
Swears: 3
Tits: 0
Explosions: 13
Scenes with Blood: 6
Vehicle's Destroyed: 1
Building's Destroyed: 6
Gates Crashed Though: 4
Film Score: 2.5/5


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Godzilla vs. King Ghidorah

Posted : 5 years, 9 months ago on 2 January 2012 12:59 (A review of Godzilla vs. King Ghidorah / Godzilla & Mothra: The Battle for Earth)

The first time I saw this I had it at a higher rating but after a couple views I just can't sit through the first half of the movie without being bored. There's so many plot holes and the android just looks mental too. I won't comment on the wires, because you see them in ever single frame, but the city sets do look awesome! Overall it's not a bad Godzilla film but the script and overall story is why I give this a low rating.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Velvet Vampire [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] review

Posted : 5 years, 9 months ago on 2 January 2012 12:58 (A review of Velvet Vampire [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC])

Well I wasn't expecting much from this movie but I have seen worse. The best thing about it is the all the tits sadly. The movie suffers from bad editing, bad acting, and not much of a plot. There's times in this movie that it tries to scrare you and it fails mostly. There was one part that kind of gave me chills but it was soon dashed away by some crap that soon followed so it was forgotten about pretty quickly. I did laugh once and it doesn't sound funny unless you've seen the movie but the best line in the film is; "Where is that bitch?" This comes at the part when Lee realizes Diane is trying to fuck his wife, Susan...lol. This movie is on that borderline with me where I want to watch it again but I'm thinking it might just be for the music and tits. It could have been a really great film had the acting been better and the plot made more sense.

Stats
TRT: 1:20:15
First Death: 3:31
Last Death: 1:16:30
Total Deaths: 6
Swears: 5
Tits: 2
Nude Scenes: 12
Explosions: 0
Scenes with Blood: 7
Dreams: 3
Cigarettes Smoked: 0
Alcoholic Drinks: 2
Film Score: 3/5


0 comments, Reply to this entry



Insert image

drop image here
(or click)
or enter URL:
 link image?  square?

Insert video

Format block