Explore
 Lists  Reviews  Images  Update feed
Categories
MoviesTV ShowsMusicBooksGamesDVDs/Blu-RayPeopleArt & DesignPlacesWeb TV & PodcastsToys & CollectiblesComic Book SeriesBeautyAnimals   View more categories »
Listal logo
All reviews - Movies (60) - TV Shows (7) - DVDs (75) - Books (62) - Music (275) - Games (17)

Ebm: Electronic Body Matrix 1 review

Posted : 7 years, 7 months ago on 21 January 2012 07:18 (A review of Ebm: Electronic Body Matrix 1)

I really have a like/ hate relationship with this label. I've never actually loved anything from it, just liked some stuff, but there's also a lot I hate. Everything released is so goddamn soulless and very rarely do I get excited about any new releases. I wanted to buy this compilation because it was a great deal and I wanted to see if it was the same ole same ole from this label. You get 112 songs for $44. There's music by some well known artists as well as some new comers, which is good. What I thought sucked though was there's some friggn' techno hardstyle tracks on here, which makes me never want to ever explore anything from this label anymore. I don't like the direction it's going at all. It seems like they're gearing towards the 16-21 year old market with songs like Fucking Invective from Noisuf-X that just repeat fuck and shit over a hard sounding beat. Very lame and very late 90's rave scene, which means it's old and boring! I did get exposed to some new artists and I guess that's the point of a compilation so in the end it's alright. I can't complain much for the price. I liked about half of what I heard so it's a 2.5/5, plus it gets a 0.5 for overall package and deal.

This boxset I got came with the promo comp 'Sounds From the Matrix 11', which actually has some tracks on here too so it was a bit pointless. A 2.5/5. Ironically I made a better compilation using 15 of the 40 bonus tracks given with the download code. I would rate that comp a 3.5/5.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

25 Best: Jazz Legends (Spkg) review

Posted : 7 years, 7 months ago on 21 January 2012 07:17 (A review of 25 Best: Jazz Legends (Spkg))

This is not a bad compilation for the price I paid. Just $6.99 at Zellers. The recordings sound like they are remasters from the original vinyls. It's actually pretty good and an awesome example is the track Woodchopper's Ball on disc one. The bass is so heavy and there's a good live type echo in the track. Makes the track more explosive! Some of the vocal jazz tracks sound kind of creepy too. I love it!

There's a couple odd things about this disc. Why the heck is George Benson on this compilation mixed with all these other older jazz icons? He does have a good track on here, that happens to be 14 minutes long! Also, the title is misleading since Billie Holiday is on here twice so it's really 24 Best Jazz Legends.

The packaging comes in this "Eco-Friendly" digipak type thing where it folds out from the bottom up. It almost looks like a wooden box. Weird. Overall this is a pretty good compilation for the price you pay.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Kaboom! review

Posted : 7 years, 8 months ago on 19 January 2012 12:39 (A review of Kaboom!)

This game is probably the quickest game I've ever played. I don't mean that it's blazing fast. I mean that one plays it for about 2 minutes and that's it. All you do is try to beat your high score but in just 2 minutes you've pretty much reached your limit and will never get any better. I'm serious, I've tried.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Episode Breakdown

Posted : 7 years, 8 months ago on 18 January 2012 07:35 (A review of Columbo: The Complete Third Season)

This is the first season of this celebrated show I've ever watched and I love it. Peter Falk was always a fan of mine but I just never caught this show. I love his style and some of the cars and guests they brought on this show were awesome! Too bad the episodes with Vincent Price and Johnny Cash are the worst of this season though. The DVD came with a bonus episode of Mrs. Columbo and I must say that show is very poor.

[Link removed - login to see]: 7/10
[Link removed - login to see]: 10/10
[Link removed - login to see]: 8/10
[Link removed - login to see]: 9/10
[Link removed - login to see]: 8/10
[Link removed - login to see]: 8/10
[Link removed - login to see]: 7/10
[Link removed - login to see]: 9/10

Bonus Mrs. Columbo Episode
Murder Is a Parlor Game: 5/10


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Amazing Stories October 1961: Try To Remember; I-C-a-BeM (Volume 35, No. 10) review

Posted : 7 years, 8 months ago on 17 January 2012 10:16 (A review of Amazing Stories October 1961: Try To Remember; I-C-a-BeM (Volume 35, No. 10))

Stories
I_C_a_BeM by Jack Vance (2/5)
Try to Remember by Frank Herbert (4/5)
The Wellsprings of Space by Albert Teichner (3/5)
The Hungry Guinea Pig by Miles Breuer (3/5)

Profile
What Makes Bradbury Burn? by Sam Moskowitz (5/5)

Books Reviewed in "The Spectroscope"
The Rim of Space
Bypass to Otherness
Not Without Sorcery
Triangle by Isaac Asimov
The Lovers


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Scientific Adventures of Baron Munchausen review

Posted : 7 years, 8 months ago on 17 January 2012 08:55 (A review of Scientific Adventures of Baron Munchausen)

This was an interesting book. It's a very dry read but filled with some pretty interesting ideas. The author mixes fact with science fiction, and even tells the reader which is which at times, but some of it comes off as a Grade 3 history lesson by todays standards so I found myself just speed reading the first few chapters. Once the hero gets to Mars then I found the book to be a lot better. For 1915 this must have astounded a lot of readers though and I would have been hooked to sci-fi back then after reading this. A true gem! Not the best sci-fi book I've read but it's well worth a buy for sure if you like classic sci-fi.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Carving Out the Eyes of God review

Posted : 7 years, 8 months ago on 17 January 2012 01:51 (A review of Carving Out the Eyes of God)

I'm more of a fan of straight death metal, or even melodic death metal, but this album is not to bad. Every track is blazing fast and the vocals are good. Before I bought it I found on the back that it was produced by Erik Rutan, which I'm a big fan of. He seems to be producing a lot of death metal now and I really like his work. However, I'm not sure if it's just me but I can't hear any damn bass at all in this. Maybe I need to listen closer but I just can't hear it. It's not a bad thing really but I like to hear it once in a while, even just a short solo would be cool. I bought this disc as part of a game and all in all this disc was a pretty good random buy. I don't really have a favorite track on this album as all the tracks seem to follow the same type of format. I did notice though that the thank you list in the insert is just one sentence long. I miss the days when they use to be two or three pages long! Made a more interesting read in the bathroom.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Could Have Been Great

Posted : 7 years, 8 months ago on 16 January 2012 10:39 (A review of Starwinder: The Ultimate Space Race)

I bought this game on a whim last year used for $5 and the promptly sold it back to the same store 2 months later for $2. I feel I did get my moneys worth but I'm so glad I didn't pay anything more. The game has a pretty good story and features but the controls is what does it in. I love the track designs but at times your spending have the race trying to keep your ship on the damn track. This of course is frustrating as hell when your racing! If this game had excellent control it would have got a 8/10 from my easily. Too bad.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Cardiology review

Posted : 7 years, 8 months ago on 16 January 2012 06:55 (A review of Cardiology)

I'm normally don't rate an album based off of one song but the track Last Night is one of the worst tracks I've ever heard in my life. I'm not talking about the music mostly either. The lyrics are so lame and tired that it makes bands like The Black Eyed Peas seem original. I personally voted that band the worst of 2011 btw so that's saying a lot about this piece of crap./ End Rant


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Expansion 1.3 review

Posted : 7 years, 8 months ago on 14 January 2012 12:07 (A review of Expansion 1.3)

Not my favorite release by Converter. Half the tracks are great and half or just plain boring. "In Accordance With Utopia" and "Rust" are the best tracks on here and feature a great fusion of noise and hard beats. The "Unreal (Live rmx)" is a piece of crap, the original version is far better. Once again Converter uses his distorted movie samples, some work with the tracks but for the most part I'd prefer if the were just removed altogether. Expansion 1.3 is good but not great, get 2.0 instead.


0 comments, Reply to this entry